Apply Now
Information For

Information regarding the 2017 Ware Lecture will be shared as it becomes available.



Past Ware Lectures

Since 2007, the Center for Global Understanding and Peacemaking has brought many global leaders to campus for the Ware Lecture on Peacemaking:

  • 2016 - Kim Phuc, Vietnam War survivor, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador, founder of the Kim Phuc Foundation International
  • 2015 - Nicholas Kristof, Pulitzer Prize-Winning New York Times Columnist
  • 2014 - Tawakkol Karman, 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate
  • 2013 - Leymah Gbowee, 2011 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate
  • 2012 - Muhammad Yunus, Nobel Peace Prize recipient and founder of Grameen Bank
  • 2011 - Shirin Ebadi, Nobel Peace Prize recipient and founder of the Association for Support of Children's Rights in Iran
  • 2010 - Terry Waite, founder of Hostage UK and Y Care International, and U.K. Ambassador for the Freeplay Foundation
  • 2009 - Jody Williams, Nobel Peace Prize recipient and chairman of the International Campaign to Ban Landmines
  • 2008 - F.W. de Klerk, Nobel Peace Prize recipient and former president of South Africa
  • 2007 - Mary Robinson, former president of Ireland and chair of Realizing Rights: The Ethical Global Initiative


Past Ware Seminars

Afghanistan: Civil Society Past, Present & Future

February 26, 2013

Jonathan Rudy shares historical background on Afghanistan and his most recent visit there; Matt Southworth discusses peacemaking and development visits, the Afghan government and how Washington will relate regarding post-2014 and policy ramifications; Joyce Davis leads discussion on the importance of Afghanistan in the context of global issues of security and implications for other fragile states; and Hassina Sherjan considers the future of Afghanistan, particularly how education can shape the country's youth.

Cyber Security

September 17, 2013

Cyber threats have become one of the most serious threats to all of society. This seminar explores cyber capabilities and how they can and are affecting our lives. Speakers: Scott Borg, director, U.S. Cyber Consequences Unit; John Smith, senior counsel, Raytheon Co.; and Ian Wallace, visiting fellow for Cyber Security with the Center for 21st-Century Security and Intelligence in the Foreign Policy program, Brookings Institution.

Elizabethtown College