Apply Now
Information For

Why Study Chemistry and Biochemistry at Elizabethtown College

Your coursework will include plenty of lab classes and hands-on research opportunities...

Areas of Study

Areas of Study in Chemistry and Biochemistry at Elizabethtown

Labs and Equipment

Discover the different labs in which you could work

Our Faculty and Staff

Staff

Dr. Kristi A. Kneas
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Department Chair
kneask@etown.edu | 717-361-1129 | M100A

  • A.B., Chemistry
  • Randolph-Macon Woman's College
    magna cum laude, Honors in Chemistry, 1995
  • Ph.D., Analytical Chemistry
  • University of Virginia, 2000



tom hagan at his desk

Dr. Thomas E. Hagan
Associate Professor of Chemistry 
hagan@etown.edu | 717-361-1125 |  M210

  • B.S., Chemistry
  • Villanova University, 1985
  • Ph.D., Bioinorganic Chemistry
  • University of Delaware, 1992
gary hoffman

Dr. Gary Hoffman
Professor of Chemistry 
hoffmang@etown.edu | 717-361-1241 | M224

  • A.B., Chemistry, Williams College,
  • magna cum laude, Honors in Chemistry, 1978
  • M.S., Physics, Harvard University, 1984
  • Ph.D., Chemical Physics
  • Harvard University, 1987
  • Faculty Website
james mackay in lab coat

Dr. James A. MacKay
Associate Professor of Chemistry 
mackayj@etown.edu | 717-361-1375 | M208

  • B.S., Chemistry, Miami University,
  • summa cum laude, 1998
  • Ph.D., Organic Chemistry
  • University of Michigan, 2004
  • Faculty Website
ray reeder

Dr. Ray Reeder
Associate Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus
reeder@etown.edu | 717-361-1126 | M202

  • B.S., Chemistry, Case Western Reserve, 1965
  • Ph.D., Brown University, 1970
jeff rood at desk

Dr. Jeffrey A. Rood
Assistant Professor of Chemistry 
roodj@etown.edu | 717-361-1355 | M222

  • B.S., Chemistry, Millersville University,
  • magna cum laude, Honors in Chemistry, 2004
  • Ph.D., Inorganic Chemistry
  • University of Notre Dame, 2009
charles schaeffer jr

Dr. Charles D. Schaeffer, Jr.
A.C. Baugher Professor of Chemistry, Emeritus
schaeffercd@etown.edu | 717-361-1128 | M216

  • B.A., Chemistry, Franklin and Marshall College, Honors in Chemistry, 1970
  • Ph.D., Inorganic Chemistry
  • State University of New York, Albany, 1974
  • Faculty Website

david yeagleyDr. David Yeagley
Instructor in Chemistry 
yeagleyd@etown.edu | 717-361-1126 | M201

  • B.S., Chemical Engineering
  • Clarkson University, 1985
  • B.P.S., Biology, Clarkson University, 1985
  • Ph.D., Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Pennsylvania State University
  • College of Medicine, 1996

 

richard papez

Mr. Richard Papez
Assistant in Chemistry
papezr@etown.edu | 717-361-3674 | M202

  • B.S., Chemistry - Millersville, 1969
  • M.S., State University of New York, Buffalo  Chemistry, 1972

 

Staff

Mr. W. Michael Bierbower
Chemical Hygiene Officer
bierbowm@etown.edu | 717-361-1547 | L243

  • BEE, Electrical Engineering
  • The Ohio State University
kristine tussing

Mrs. Kristine Tussing
Administrative Assistant
tussingk@etown.edu | 717-361-1126 | M100

  • B.S., Secondary Education
  • The Ohio State University
Elizabethtown College