Summer Scholarship, Creative Arts and Research Projects Program

The Summer Scholarship, Creative Arts and Research Projects (SCARP) program was created to support independent student research under the sponsorship of a faculty mentor. The program is a non-credit experiential learning program designed to enhance professional skills and provide a competitive advantage to participating students in the pursuit of career opportunities and graduate studies. At the same time, participating faculty scholars and researchers will benefit from student involvement in support of professional scholarship and research agendas.

DR. Rood with chemistry Summer 2014 SCARP students Stephanie Tretter and Ashley Landis

For participating in the program, students will receive a training stipend, room and board for the duration of their projects (from 3 to 10 weeks), and a professional experience as part of a scholarship/research community. They will also benefit from highly personalized mentoring from active researchers and scholars.

SCARP has been approved as a supervised research option that fulfills one of the two required Signature Learning Experiences (SLE) for Elizabethtown College students. Read more about SCARP and other Signature Learning Experiences here.

SCARP would like to give special congratulations to Dr. David Bowne and Dr. Jodi Yorty on being featured in CUR Quarterly Summer 2016 Edition for Dr. Bowne's TurtlePop project. You can read the article here.

Applications for SCARP 2017 are now available! Faculty can apply on Jayweb through the following link: . The application is due by 5 p.m. on January 13, 2017.

Summer SCARP 2016

Monday June 27, 2016 | Hoover-212 | 9 to 10:45 a.m. (snack provided)
Faculty Mentor Student Researcher Project Title
Dr. Richard Papez
Miranda Campbell
Haley Young
Synthesis with Successive Analyses of Oligomers and Polymers with Emphasis on Molecular Weight and Structure
Dr. Alexandria Poole
Eric Sevareid A modern defense of philosopher and critical theorist Herbert Marcuse's aesthetic theory.
Dr. Tom Hagan
Kelsi Newman Analysis of Porphyrin Synthesis and Purification Procedures for Optimized Production of Glycosylated Porphyrins
Dr. William Stuckey
Alexander Sten Modified Regge Calculus fit of the Union2.1 Compilation Supernova Data
Friday July 15, 2016 | Susquehanna/Swatara | 9 to 11:30 a.m. (snack & lunch provided)
Faculty Mentor Student Researcher Project Title
Dr. Jodi Yorty
Molecular Biology
Morgan Chambers Mechanisms Involved in corticosterone-induced loss of dendritic cells & their persistence with anti-CD40
Dr. Jean Pretz
Psychology Dept. Chair
Megan Kuczma Creativity & Critical Thinking in Undergraduate Students
Dr. Aaron Cecala
Ryan Kenney Classification of the Metrics of Human Interceptive Saccade Adaptation
Dr. Michael Roy
Dr. Jean Pretz
Kayla Furman
Allyson Killen
Intuition, Religiosity and Scientific Understanding
Dr. Diane Bridge
Colin Todd
Brady Morgan
Jason Weitzman
Experimentally modifying the levels of proteins associated with aging in the invertebrate Hydra
Dr. Timothy McDevitt
Mathematics Dept. Chair
Laura Travis Maximizing Arbitrage Profits
Dr. Jane Cavender
Biology Dept. Chair
Robert Wilcox Effects of Echinacea on cell growth & apoptosis on tumor cells & immortal human fibroblasts
Dr. William Gordon
Adjunct Faculty
Paul Lecurieux-Lafayette Trucker Life Center Facility Design & Fabrication Process Development
Dr. Jane Cavender
Biology Dept. Chair
Anushka Katikaneni Correlation of Cannabinoid Receptor Type 2 with Expression Apoptosis in Keratinocytes & Immortal Human Fibroblasts
Friday July 29, 2016 | Susquehanna/Swatara | 9 to 10:55 a.m. (snack provided)
Faculty Mentor Student Researcher Project Title
Dr. Jeffrey Rood, Chemistry
Dr. Kristi Kneas, Dean for Academic Affairs & Faculty Development
Sitara Ramjit
Kayla Hess
Development of Luminescent Metal Organic Frameworks as Sensors: Framework Preparation & Photophysical Characterization
Dr. James MacKay
Holly Sofka
Amanda Williams
Design & Synthesis of novel nucleobases capable of triplex formation with Watson-Crick base pairs in double stranded RNA
Dr. Kurt DeGoede
Engineering & Physics
Otis Statham E-MAT System Development
Dr. Kurt DeGoede
Engineering & Physics
Margo Donlin EPICS Independent Research Development
Dr. Kirsten Johnson
Dr. Michele Kozimer-King
Irene Snyder
Tara Siano
Meredith Cox-Holmes
Work-Life Balance in Television Newsrooms
Dr. Alexandria Poole
Dr. April Kelly-Woessner
Political Science Dept. Chair
Nicole McGlyn The effects of socio-economic standings on environmental education & the extinction of experience
Dr. Stephen Soltys
Angela Wesneski
Katelyn Mowery
Fundamental Exam Videos
Dr. Gary Hoffman
Ryan Thomas Conformational Analysis of Molecular Systems